What kind of quilter am I?

One of the things I have been thinking about while I go through my whole what am I doing here thing… (possibly mid-life related?) …is what kind of quilter am I?

There seems to have been quite a bit about of late relating to the whole Modern Quilter v Traditional Quilter stuff. Not sure where I fit on the whole spectrum though.

Of late I have been working on the minis for the swaps, and they have fallen mostly into the modern camp. But, when it comes to things for me, or for what I tend towards when left to my own devices, I don’t actually have a preference for what kind of quilter I am. Perhaps that it is, I am a quilter and I like what I like, and I don’t like what I don’t like (kids novelty prints – can’t stand them).

If we have a bit of a look at the list of things I am working on for me…

  1. George III – from Carolyn Konig Design this is totally a reproduction job, all the browns under the sun, it challenges me and I love it. Very long term project that I need to have finished in about three years.
  2. Winter is Coming – from the Blackbird Designs book When the Cold Wind Blows all the applique, all the time. I have as long as I need for this one, it lives in a bag for me to take when I have quilt group, or I am going away for the weekend. It lives in a bag, ready to go.
  3. Happiness is – a hexagon project that is all spots and stripes in all the happy colours. I started it after the breakdown of my marriage when I needed some colour in my life. One of these days I will decide what it is that I am going to do with it. I am terrified it is going to end up being a queen sized quilt and I will never get it done. Or I could make it into a cushion.

I have a tendency to make quilts for queen sized beds, and at least one of the ones currently under construction (Winter is Coming), I have plans to make bigger than that. Limiting myself to the minis has been really good for me, I am trying different things and working towards different goals (they also have timelines… mostly my quilts can hang around forever).

But then there is the Modern Medallion – or Stargate Quilt – it is something of an anomaly. The modern quilt made with traditional fabrics. Really should quilt that one.

2 thoughts on “What kind of quilter am I?

  1. Don’t give in to labels. Don’t confine yourself to someone else’s notion of what that label means. You are a creator. You get to decide what to create.

    As to “modern” medallions, as long as the format is a medallion — a central motif surrounded by multiple borders — it is not modern OR traditional. It is a medallion. The colors or fabrics or even blocks you use don’t change that. Using wonky or not-matching or great precision or whatever doesn’t change that, either. It’s still a medallion. Just the humble opinion of someone who has made A LOT of medallion quilts. 🙂

    • Hi Melanie.
      I tend not to pay attention to labels for myself, but I have found this whole discussion curious. Surely we are all quilters, we just have different styles and tastes…

Leave a Reply

