What Now?

I have been a little absent from this space… which looking back over the past few years isn’t anything new. It seems to happen with some regularity. I have another blog (actually I think I have like 5 or 6 of them to be honest) and I keep on vowing that I will write more, but the problem is that I don’t know what to write about.

When I was classroom teaching things were a bit easier in the writing stakes – my teaching blog is now possibly the most neglected space on the internet. But ironically enough, one of the things that used to get in the way of me quilting, was the amount of time and energy (physical and emotional) that teaching took.

About a year ago now I undertook the second major life change that have been through in four years. I left teaching to work at a university. I no longer have responsibility for delivering lessons in English and history to middle school students, instead I write and work with academics on the delivery of business degrees (undergraduate and postgraduate). I may head back into the classroom at some stage (I did redo my registration last week), but for the moment I am enjoying life and the improved work/life balance that this new job brings.

Which brings me to What Now?

Last week I was on Instagram (if you don’t already follow me, please do – the link is on the side), and I came across a post about what is in a craftblog name (please have a look at it here). I have not been happy with my blog name for a while, I thought that it was the name of this space that was why it was that I wasn’t posting as much as I wanted to (of late it has been that I don’t have reliable internet, but that is a rant for another blog). So I have been considering changing it.

Over the past few months I have been trying out different online identities for my quilt/craft space – I have been fishiboo (which is what I seem to be everywhere, not a name I really want to keep as it was what my now ex-husband used to call me)… portello square (after my favorite soft-drink, and it kind of reminds me of home)… and now sometimes I quilt (which kind of makes sense given that that kind of mirrors the name of this space).

I named this space originally years ago because it was a case that only sometimes I was able to quilt. Between having small children and studying that was about all I had time for, but then things changed and now I am more deliberate about how I spend my relaxation time, because quilting (and other assorted crafts) is essentially how I relax.

Perhaps I just need to think about this some more… sometimes i quilt… or is it the tagline that I need to change… because now I do more, I don’t just think about it.

Leave a Reply

