What direction to go in now?

As I blogged about yesterday, I have finished my masters and now find myself with a great deal of time on my hands. Well, not really a great deal of time, but not having big thoughts to think about has really helped me free up some space – I feel so much lighter not having study hanging around my neck. One of the things I have been thinking about a great deal has been what it is that I want my life to look like in a couple of years from now.

While I have been studying there has been so much change for me, a divorce, kids finishing school (kind of) and the health problems of being diagnosed with an autoimmune disease. Having one of the big things disappearing (study) is also presenting me with an opportunity to try some new directions out for size. Over the past  few weeks as I have been getting closer to the end, it has been really hard to focus on getting it all done. Work has been really hard, with so many changes and challenges presenting themselves along the way, and now I have found myself in a position where I am choosing to make different choices about my attitude and approach to things which normally would have driven me up the wall.

I have made a couple of decisions, ones which generally would make their way into a “beginning of the year” post about resolutions and the like – but I am not really into that kind of thinking.

Over the last couple of years I have generally given it a theme:

  • 2012 – The Year of Less Drama
  • 2013 – The Year of Getting Shit Done

and now I am trying to decide on the theme for 2014. I am thinking that I would like to have a focus on creativity in the coming year and get that part of myself back into focus. And in related news, I would like to quilt and create more, and with purpose… not just to tick off a goal or something like that. I am not going to commit to make a quilt a month or something like that, because I know that there would be the temptation to just finish something without thinking about why it is that I am making it – I want this to be deliberate… perhaps I should think about designing and making my own patterns again as well.

Just some more things for me to think about.

 

Leave a Reply

