Canberra Quilt Show 2012

A couple of years ago I blogged about how disappointed I was with the Canberra Quilt Show. Now if I recall the day, I wasn’t alone at the show having been accompanied by someone who didn’t like quilting and that may have contributed to my displeasure with the day. I love spending time with quilters and I have no objections at all with spending the day looking at quilts and discussing which you would choose for best of show and the like, but today I was alone as I wandered around looking at the quilts, and I must say I was impressed.

One of the things which I particularly enjoyed was seeing quilts by quilters whom I recognised. Gwen had two in the show (that I could see) and Melinda had another. I remember holding the Stitch and Bitch at my house, and being a part of the group looking at which colour Gwen should be using for the small border, and seeing the progress on another.

In other news, I joined Canberra Quilters today, so perhaps that will help with the actually quilting, rather than just thinking about it.

A couple of quilts which appealed to me…

Image

Image

“Rainbow Connection” by the lovely Angie 🙂
Which is amusing, given I have been stalked by the Muppets song “Rainbow Connection” for the last couple of years.

4 thoughts on “Canberra Quilt Show 2012

  1. Hi Katie – I just wanted to say a quick thank you for featuring my quilt (rainbow connection) on your blog. Means a lot to know people like it. Great to hear you had a good time at the exhibition and that you joined the Guild. Look forward to seeing you at one of the meetings. 🙂 Angie

  2. I’m so glad you enjoyed the show! There was a good mix of quilt this year. Some years I have thought it was too much like an Art Quilters show.

    And welcome to Canberra Quilters. If you are ever coming along to a meeting on a Thursday night, I’d be happy (and Angie would too I’m sure) to meet up with you so it’s not as freakin’ scary (as it can be when you launch yourself into a room of 100 women).

    We also have a modern quilt group that meets on the 2nd Thursday – this might interest you too? It’s a lovely group – small and very inspiring.

Leave a Reply

